# বঙ্গবন্ধু পরিষদ অস্ট্রেলিয়া

#### Bangabandhu Society of Australia Regd. No. Y 2650818, ABN 24 508 194 656, Charity reg. No. CFN 17511

## **Press Release**

It is hereby notified to the community members and media of the Bangladesh Community in Australia that the Bangabandhu Society of Australia in its convening committee meeting on 28<sup>th</sup> March 2010 held in Migrant Resource Centre, Campsie NSW formed a 29-member Executive Committee headed by Dr. Nizam Uddin Ahmed and Mr. Shamim Babu as its President and General Secretary respectively. The rest six members as per constitution will be co-opted soon after consultations with the prospective candidates. The names of the committee members are listed below.

This meeting also unanimously decided to act on Bangla New Year's Day Festival (Boishakhi Mela) 2010 and agreed to organize the festival on 10<sup>th</sup> April at Tempe Park, Holbeach Ave, Tempe NSW as per the Marrickville Council's DA approval and the Public Liability Insurance schedule held by the society. It also formed a Mela organizing committee led by Khondoker Mostaq Meraz to accomplish all the activities related to this festival.

The decisions were conferred by 22 members out of 34 of the convening committee of BSA. We urge all activists, supporters and well-wishers of the ideals of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the Father of the Nation of Bangladesh and the greatest Bangalee of all times to come forward and stand by this committee and strengthen the hands of Jononetri Sheikh Hasina in materializing the visions of a developed and digital Bangladesh.

We request all relevant and interested community members and parties to the Boishakhi Mela to contact Mr. Meraz or any of his team members for all issues of the festival. Please do not get involved with or contact any other person regarding the Boishakhi Mela of Tempe Park this year as no one else hold the legal bindings. This will help you avoid risk of any damage.

### Kind Regards

Dr. Nizam Uddin Ahmed President

Mr. Shamim Babu General Secretary

# **Executive Committee 2010**

POSITION	NAME	Telephone
President	Dr. Nizam Uddin Ahmed	0432428764
Vice President	Mohammed Usman Ghani	0423042331
Vice President	Harun Azad	0403610212
Vice President	Mizanur Rahman	
General Secretary	Shamim Babu	0422807627
Joint General Secretary	Harun Rashid	0422255243
Joint General Secretary	TBA	
Treasurer	Rafiq Uddin	0415678146
Organising Secretary	Khandaker Mostaque Meraz	0402671904
Joint Organising Secretary	Mosleur Rohoman Khusbu	0412313361
Cultural Secretary	AKM Faruq	0412008016
Joint Cultural Secretary	Tarik Anzam	
Public Relations	Mohammad Abdullah Al	0404340404
Secretary	Noman	
Joint Public Relations Secretary	Moshiur Rahman Sheikh Redoy	0423746422
Entertainment Secretary	Osman Gani Manik	0433346518
Joint Entertainment Secretary	Ashraf Khan	0404790330
Education and Research Secretary	Dr Khairul Chowdhury	0423510639
Joint Education and Research secretary	Abu Shafiq	
EC Member	Abdul Jalil	0400344754
EC Member	Dr. Nurur Rahman Khokon	0402856058
EC Member	Dr Ratan Kundu	0438215020
EC Member	Dr. Lovely Rahman	0411090825
EC Member	Dr Abdus Sadeque	0422346847

EC Member	Barrister Amzad Hossain	0409572960
EC Member	Abdul Hakim	0413833798
EC Member	Haran Chandra Sarker	0425240224
EC Member	Dr Arabinda Saha	N/A
EC Member	Dr Shamim Hasan	N/A
EC Member	Azmul Haque Pappu	0430041578
EC Member	Khandakar Tarique Hasan	N/A
EC Member	TBA	