ICC WORLD CUP CRICKET 2011











Nawshad765@hotmail.com

The stage is ready for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 which will be jointly held in Bangladesh, India and Srilanka from 19th February – 02 April. The World cup is a prestigious event and being held in the sub-continent, where cricket is a passion, religion makes it a special event. Familiar home conditions, fanatical crowd support and a young energetic side give Bangladesh a chance to emerge from the shadows when the World Cup is played in their backyard.

The <u>43-day</u>, <u>49 matches</u> tournament will be played under a new format with India hosting a majority of matches (29), including the final in Mumbai. <u>Bangladesh</u> will host the spectacular opening ceremony on <u>17th February</u> and <u>8 matches</u> including <u>2 quarter finals</u>. Interest in the World Cup is high in <u>Bangladesh</u>, as the cricket-crazy nation gears up to host the cricket's showpiece for the first time.

Groups in which Cricket World Cup 2011 teams are divided:

Group A: Australia, Srilanka, Pakistan, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Canada.

Group B: India, South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Ireland Netherlands.

The league stages will feature two groups of seven team, with the top four teams from each group progressing to the quarter finals stage (Knock-out).

The traditional formula will be followed to determine who plays whom in quarter finals, i.e. the team finishing at the top of Group A will meets the team finishing fourth in Group B (ie. A1 v B4, A2 v B3, A3 v B2, A4 v B1). But the 3 host nations will get to play their quarter final match at home venues, should they make it, irrespective of where they finish in their group.

Bangladesh will participate for the 4th time and have been placed in a very challenging group with India, South Africa, England and West Indies. They must defeat one of the established Test nations and ensure they do not slip-up against Ireland and the Netherlands to advance to the knock-out rounds. The advantage Bangladesh enjoy is they play all their six league matches at home in Dhaka and Chittagong, where they have won seven of their last 10 one-dayers and lost just once.

Expectation is sky high for the **Bangladesh** team to do well at home soil. A **quarterfinal berth** is the least millions of fans in the cricket-crazy nation will expect Shakib Al Hasan's men to achieve, *if not an unprecedented place in the semifinals*.

Schedule of Bangladesh's group matches are:

Against	Date	Match	Time (BD / Aust)	Venue
India	19 Feb (Saturday)	Day/Night	2:30 PM / 7:30 PM	Mirpur, Dhaka
Ireland	25 Feb (Friday)	Day/Night	2:30 PM / 7:30 PM	Mirpur, Dhaka
West Indies	4 March (Friday)	Day/Night	2:30 PM / 7:30 PM	Mirpur, Dhaka
England	11 March (Friday)	Day/Night	2:30 PM / 7:30 PM	Chittagong
Netherlands	14 March (Monday)	Day	9:30 AM / 2:30 PM	Chittagong
South Africa	19 March (Saturday)	Day	9:30 AM / 2:30 PM	Mirpur, Dhaka

All the matches will be shown LIVE on FOXTEL pay TV. (attached LIVE TV guide). Channel 9 will telecast LIVE only the matches that Australia will play and the finals. There will be many online Video streaming where matches can be seen LIVE, one of them will be WWW. Hitcric.info.

Bangladesh will be playing 2 warm-up matches before the World Cup. On 12th February against Canada and Pakistan on 15th February.

So let the fun begin

Current ODI RANKING

- 1. Australia 2. India 3. Isri Lanka 4. South Africa 5. England
- 6. Pakistan 7. New Zealand, 8. West Indies, 9. Bangladesh,
- 10. Ireland, 11. Zimbabwe 12. Netherlands 13. Kenya 14. Canada

Current Top ODI Batsmen:

- 1. Amla (SA) 2. De Villiers (SA) 3. Virat Kohli (Ind), 4. M Hussey (Aust) 5. Chris Gayle (WI)
- 6. Dilshan (SL), 7. MS Dhoni (Ind) 8. Chanderpaul (WI)

Current Top ODI Bowlers:

1. Vettori (NZ), 2. Morkel (SA), 3. Abdur Razzak (BAN), 4. Swann (ENG), 5. R. Price (ZIM), 6. Shakib (BAN), 7. Bollinger (AUS), 8. Broad (ENG), 9. Kulasekara (SL), 10. D.W. Steyn (SA)

Current Top ODI All rounders:

1. Shakib Al Hasan (BAN), 2. Watson (AUS), 3. Shahid Afridi (PAK), 4. J. Kallis (SA), 5. D. Vettori (NZ), 6. J. Oram (NZ), 7. Yuvraj Singh (IND), 8. P. Collingwood (ENG), 9. Gayle (WI), 10. Doeschate (NED)

Here are some of the statistics of the World Cup Cricket:

Team Statistics

Most Match Played		Most Victories		Highest Team Score	
Country	Match	Country	Match Won	Country	Total Run
Australia	69	Australia	51	India (Bermuda)	413/5
New Zealand	62	England	36	SriLanka (Kenya)	398/5
England	59	W Indies	35	Australia (S Africa)	377/6
Bangladesh	20	BDesh	05	Bdesh (S Africa)	251/8

Team and Batting Statistics

Lowest Team Total		Most Sixes in an Innings		Most runs in a series by a batsman	
Country	Match	ch Player Six		Batsman	Total Run
Canada (SL)	36	R Ponting	8	Tendulkar (2003)	673
Canada (ENG)	45	Imran Nazir	8	M Hayden (2007)	659
Namibia (AUST)	45	Gilchrist	8	Jayewardene (2007)	548
Bdesh (S Africa)	108	Tamim*	7	Md Ashraful (2007)	216

^{*} Tamim hit 7 sixes against Zimbabwe (Not a World Cup Match)

Player Statistics

Most Matches Played		Most Matches as Captain		Most Catches	
Player	Match	Player Match		Player	Catch
Ricky Ponting	39	S Fleming	27	R Ponting	25
Glen McGrath	39	M Azharuddin	23	S Jayasuriya	18
S Jayasuriya	38	R Ponting	22	Brian Lara	16
Md Rafique	17	Imran Khan	22	Aftab Ahmed	6
Md Ashraful	14	H. Bashar	9	Tamim Igbal	6

Batting Statistics

Dalling Statis	แเร					
Top Run scorer		Highest Score		Most C	Most Centuries	
Player	Run	Player	Player Run		Century	
Tendulkar	1796	G Kirsten	188*	S Ganguly	4	
R Ponting	1537	S Ganguly	183	M Waugh	4	
Brian Lara	1225	Viv Richard	181	Tendulkar	4	
Md Ashraful	287	Md Ashraful	87	R Ponting	4	

Batting/Bowling Statistics

Top Wicket Takers		Highest Partnership		Most Ducks		
Player	Wickets	Wickets Players Run		Player	Ducks	
McGrath 71		Ganguly + Dravid	318	N Astle	5	
W Akram	55	Tendulkar + Ganguly	244	ljaz Ahmed	5	
Murali	53	Dravid + Tendulkar	237*	Inzamam	4	
Razzak	13	Mehrab + Naimur	85	Md Rafique	3	
Md Rafique	12	Mushfig + Shakib	84	H Bashar	2	

Farewell: Sadly this world cup will be the swan song for many great cricketers. Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Muttiah Muralitharan, Brett Lee, Shoaib Akhter, Jacques Kallis, Mahela Jayewardene, Daniel Vettori, Shivnarien Chandrapaul, Md Ashraful.

No host nations has won the ICC World Cup in it's own soil. In 1996, the co-host Sri Lanka won the World Cup when the final was played at Karachi, Pakistan.

Official Song: The Official song of the World Cup is "De Ghume Ke" is composed by the trio of Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy, and is sung in Hindi, Bangla and Sinhalese. "De Ghume Ke" literally means "Hit it Hard".

The Trophy: The ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy is a running trophy, presented to the winning team since 1999. The original trophy is kept with the ICC headquarters in Dubai. The winning team is given a replica.

Prize Money: The 2011 Cricket World Cup winning team would be taking home **US\$ 3 million** and **US\$ 1.5 million for runner-up**. The two losing semi-finalists take home **\$500,000** each, while teams that are knocked out in the quarter-final stage will get **\$250,000** each.

Fastest Century in World cup was scored by Davison of Canada (67 balls) against West Indies in 2003.

Fastest Fifty: Brian Lara of WI scored the fastest 50 in 23 balls against Canada in 2003.

The youngest age at which anyone has played an ICC Cricket World Cup match - the youngest of the seven 17-year-olds was Bangladesh's Talha Jubair in 2003.

World Cup history

Year	Host	Winner	Runner up
1975	England	West Indies	Australia
1979	England	West Indies	England
1983	England	India	West Indies
1987	India/Pakistan	Australia	England
1992	Australia/New Zealand	Pakistan	England
1996	India/Pakistan/Sri Lanka	Sri Lanka	Australia
1999	England	Australia	Pakistan
2003	South Africa	Australia	India
2007	West Indies	Australia	Sri Lanka





